

POWERED BY





MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Drag Racing Championship 2023 Powered By Vamcy Merla fmsci

## MEDIA RELEASE

- Unbeaten Shah Rukh Khan, Jagathishree annex National titles
- Arfath, Fazil, Madhan Kumar crowned champions

Chennai, December 23: Notching four wins in as many starts, Mumbai's Shah Rukh Khan (Mantra Racing) and Jagathishree Kumaresan from Chennai (One Racing) annexed the titles in the 4-Stroke 361-550cc and Girls (4S 165cc, Novice) categories, respectively, in the MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Drag Racing Championship 2023 Powered by Vamcy Merla at the Madras International Circuit, here on Saturday.

Meanwhile, two Bengalureans, Mohammed Arfath (2-Stroke 131-165cc Super Sport), Mohammed Fazil (2S 165cc Super Sport India), and Chennai's Madhan Kumar R (2S Up to 130cc Super Sport) also topped the championship in their respective categories.

It was hectic action at the MIC as the backlog of races from Round 2 in September that was affected by rains, were conducted along with the third and fourth rounds. The championship will conclude tomorrow (Sunday) when races of Rounds 3 and 4 in the remaining categories will be run.

While the championships were being decided, the attention was on the "big boys" of drag racing. Bengaluru's Hemanth Muddappa (Mantra Racing) notched a double by topping the Round-2 races in the Unrestricted and 1051-1650cc (Super Sport) categories ahead of his main rivals, Hyderabad's Mohammed Riyaz and Mirza Jahangir, and fellow-Bengalurean Sugan Prasad.

The results (all 4-Stroke unless mentioned):

## **ROUND-4**

361-550CC: 1. Sharukh Khan (Mumbai, Mantra Racing) (11.380secs); 2. Jason D'Souza (Mumbai, Mantra Racing) (11.869); 3. Mohammed Fazil (Bengaluru) (12.044). National champion: Shah Rukh Khan. Team champions: Mantra Racing.

165cc (Super Sport Indian): 1. Saravanan E (Chennai) 13.806); 2. Shainsha R (Chennai) 13.953); 3. Bharathraj Jayaraman (Chennai, Gulf Rockers Racing) (14.016).

National champion: Mohammed Fazil (Bengaluru). Team champions: Gulf Rockers Racing.

Girls (165cc, Novice): 1. Jagathishree Kumaresan (Chennai, One Racing) (16.131); 2. Soundari A (Chennai, AS Motorsports) (16.641); 3. Elakkiya (Coimbatore, AS Motorsports) (16.705). National champion: Jagathishree Kumaresan. Team champions: One Racing.

2-Stroke 131-165cc (Super Sport): 1. Mohammed Arfath (Bengaluru) (12.828); 2. Abdul Shaikh (Bengaluru) (12.890); 3. Ashok S (Bengaluru) (13.017). National champion: Mohammed Arfath.

2-Stroke Up to 130cc (Super Sport): 1. Aravind Ganesh (Chennai, ACCSYS India Rookies Racing) (13.221); 2. Madhan Kumar R (Chennai) (13.318); 3. Suresh Kumar R (Chennai) (14.508). National champion: Madhan Kumar R. Team champions: ACCSYS India Rookies Racing.

Support Race (166-225cc): 1. Balasubramaniam R (Chennai) (13.757); 2. Badhusha M (Chennai) (14.079); 3. Madhan Kumar R (Chennai) (14.683).

## **ROUND-3**

361-550cc (Super Sport Indian): 1. Shah Rukh Khan (Mumbai, Mantra Racing) (11.409); 2. Jason D'Souza (Mumbai, Mantra Racing) (11.929); 3. Abdul Shaikh (Bengaluru) (12.229).

165cc (Super Sport Indian): 1. Shahinsha R (Chennai) (14.088); 2. Mohammed Fazil (Bengaluru) (14.181); 3. Bharathraj Jayaraman (Chennai, Gulf Rockers Racing) (14.187).

Girls (165cc, Novice): 1. Jagathishree Kumaresan (Chennai) (16.089); 2. Soundari A (Chennai) (16.676); 3. Lani Fernandez (Puducherry) (16.722).

2-Stroke 135-165cc (Super Sport): 1. Mohammed Arfath (Bengaluru) (12.933); 2. Mustafa Siraj Khan (Bengaluru) (12.988); 3. Ashok S (Bengaluru) (13.046).

2-Stroke 130cc (Super Sport): 1. Madhan Kumar R (Chennai) (13.118); 2. Aravind Ganesh R (Chennai, Accsys India Rookies Racing) (13.426); 3. Mohammed Arfath (Bengaluru) (13.523).

Support Race (166-225cc): 1. Balasubramaniam R (Chennai) (13.603); 2. Badhusha M (Chennai) (13.813); 3. Madhan Kumar R (Chennai) (14.510).

## **ROUND-2**

Unrestricted: 1. Hemanth Muddappa (Bengaluru, Mantra Racing) (07.808); 2. Mohammed Riyaz (Hyderabad) (07.972); 3. Sugan Prasad SP (Bengaluru) (08.239).

1051-1650cc (Super Sport): 1. Hemanth Muddappa (Bengaluru, Mantra Racing) (07.779); 2. Mohammed Riyaz (Hyderabad) (08.012); 3. Mirza Jahangir (Hyderabad) (08.210).

551-850cc (Super Sport): 1. Mohammed Riyaz (Hyderabad) (08.504); 2. Mirza Jahangir (Hyderabad) (08.748); 3. Mehanth Muddappa (Bengaluru, Mantra Racing) 08.850).

361-550cc (Super Sport): 1. Shahrukh Khan (Mumbai, Mantra Racing) (11.505); 2. Mohammed Fazil (Bengaluru) (11.937); 3. Altaf Khan (Hyderabad) (12.134).